Handel, Georg Friedrich - Athalia HWV 52 -Oratorio in three parts- View larger

Handel, Georg Friedrich - Athalia HWV 52 -Oratorio in three parts-


53,71 € tax incl.

The delivery time for this product is 1-2 working days.

  • Piano reduction.

    Urtext Edition.

    Detailed Instrumentation: Full orchestra / 3 Solo Sopranos / Solo Alto / Solo Bass / 2 Solo Tenors.

    Language(s) of work: English, Italian.

    Binding: Paperback.

    Athalia HWV 52 -Oratorio in three parts- The oratorio “ Athalia ” tells the Old Testament story of the Queen Athalia . Handel composed it in 1733 for Oxford University where it was first performed later that year during the celebrations for the awarding of honorary degrees. The great s uccess of this performance is generally regarded as a reason for Handel’s renewed interest in the oratorio form. As was frequently the case, Handel also carried on composing this work after the first performance. Thus, for the version which was performed in London in 1735, he introduced numbers in Italian for the Italian singer Carestini in the role of Joad . He also ended the work with an organ concerto. For the performance in 1756 he drew on other works for the third act.

    Conversely, large parts of the music to Athalia form the basis for other works by Handel such as “ Parnasso in festa ” (HWV 73) and the Wedding Anthem (HWV 262).

    The piano reduction by Andreas Köhs , based on the Urtext of the “Halle Handel” Edition, includes the main version of 1733 together with an appendix containing the versions of 1735 and 1756 as well as the outline of a planned version of 1743 which was not performed.

    - Based on the Urtext of the “ Halle Handel” Edition
    - Includes all versions
    - Detailed foreword (Ger/Eng)
  • bindingKartoniert
    size27,0 x 19,0
    detailed compositionGrOrch/3 SSolo/ASolo/BSolo/2 TSolo
    editorBlaut, Stephan
    edizione1. Aufl. 2008
    number of pagesXVII, 409 Seiten


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

Handel, Georg Friedrich - Athalia HWV 52 -Oratorio in three parts-

Handel, Georg Friedrich - Athalia HWV 52 -Oratorio in three parts-