Middelschulte, Wilhelm - Originalkompositionen 1 View larger

Middelschulte, Wilhelm - Originalkompositionen 1


34,96 € tax incl.

Metodi di pagamento
Metodi di pagamento

The delivery time for this product is 1-2 working days.

  • Performance score, Anthology. For Organ.

    Urtext Edition. Series: Complete Organ Works I.

    Detailed Instrumentation: Organ.

    Binding: Paperback.

    Originalkompositionen 1 Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin and headed the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee from 1891 onwards. As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact on American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a “master of counterpoint” and the greatest contrapuntist since J. S. Bach.

    Middelschulte’s œuvre consists entirely of organ works. He was a “modern classicist” firmly rooted in the 19th century tradition, yet strongly attached to baroque contrapuntal forms, and especially the works of Johann Sebastian Bach, with which he sought to rise above the compositional norm of his time. The result was a combination of romantic virtuosity with a vision of music that was anything but antiquarian, despite its historical models.

    The D minor Passacaglia works on the same formal level as Bach’s famous Passacaglia in C minor. The Canons and Fugue on “ Vater unser im Himmelreich ” demonstrate the formal rigour that typifies Middelschulte’s music as a whole.

    - First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s music
    - Every volume has a detailed preface and critical report (German / English)
    - Scheduled to include six volumes

    „This music deserves to be better known; now that we have a proper scholarly edition, it is to be hoped that it will be.”
    (Piano May/June 2008)

    “If you’re looking for new repertoire, and late German Romantic appeals to you, this is your next project.“
    (The American Organist November 2007)
  • bindingKartoniert
    size30,0 x 23,0
    detailed compositionOrg
    editorMeyer, Hans-Dieter / Sonnentheil, Jürgen
    edizione1. Aufl. 2007
    number of pagesXXIII, 120 Seiten


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

Middelschulte, Wilhelm - Originalkompositionen 1

Middelschulte, Wilhelm - Originalkompositionen 1